FL Keys 1st MotorcycleRidingSchool, LLC

Your Subtitle text
              RIDE the RIGHT way - SAFE sm

About the Law

Laws change. The following is a list of items extracted from and based on the "current" laws at the time of compiling.  These are being presented to assist you in being informed and staying within the Florida Laws governing motorcycle and moped operations.  For a complete and updated list go to www.hsmv.state.fl.us


Licensing for Motorcycles:
Starting July 1, 2008, new motorcyclists must take and pass the Basic RiderCourse through the
     Florida Riders Training Program (FRTP) before they can have the motorcycle endorsement
     added to their license, per Section 322.12(5)(a), Florida Statues.  After July 1, 2008, everyone
     will have to take the class and pass the test, no matter their age.

Safety Helmet:

     316.211 Helmet Law for motorcycles and moped riders - required for riders under 21.

     Not required over 21 with a minimum of $10,000 in medical insurance

Eye Protection:

     Required by law


Daytime Use of Headlights:

     Required by law - modulating headlight permitted


Passenger Seat:

     Required if carrying a passenger


Passenger Footrest:

     Required if carrying a passenger


Passenger Age Restriction:               



Helmet Speakers:

     No earphones allowed. Helmet speakers are allowed.


Periodic Safety Inspection:



Mirror Left (L) Right (R):

     One required by law


Radar Detector:

     No restriction


Turn Signals:

     Not required



     316.293 (5) Noise Abatement Equipment Modifications (a) No person shall modify the exhaust 
     system of a motor vehicle or any other noise-abatement device of a motor vehicle operated or to
     be operated upon highways of this state in such manner that the noise emitted by the motor is
     above that emitted by the vehicle as originally manufactured. (b) No person shall operate a
     motor vehicle upon the highways of the state with an exhaust system or noise-abatement device
     so modified.


Maximum Sound Level:

     Maximum allowable A-weighted sound levels based on measurements taken at a distance of 50
     feet from center line of travel (Sec. 316.293): 1) Manufactured before 1/1/79--- 82dBA
     (35mph or less): 86dBA (over 35mph) 2) Manufactured after 1/1/79--- 78dBA (35mph or
     less); 82dBA (over 35mph)


State Insurance Requirements:

     No-Fault, or “PIP Law” does not apply to motorcycles. HOWEVER, the Financial
     Responsibility FR Law applies to ALL motor vehicles in Florida, including motorcycles. Thus
     the voluntary purchase of motor vehicle liability insurance by an owner, operator or
     owner/operator is highly recommended. Failure to to carry property damages and bodily injury
     liability insurance in case of crash. DUI conviction or other occurrences outlined in Florida’s FR
     Law. Ch. 324 may result in some or all of the following: Loss of license/tag and registration,
     and/or civil court judgment, and/future proof (three years) of high risk. SR22 mandatory liability
     insurance coverage just to keep your driver’s license – even if you do not own any motor 
     vehicle. Source> Florida Motorcycle Handbook 2006


Handlebar Height:

     No higher than top of shoulders of the operator when seated upon motorcycle.


Accept Motorcycle Endorsements From Other States:



Accept RiderEd Completion Card From Other States:

     May accept MSF Completion Cards from some States.  Check with local authorities


Motorcycles Operating Two Abreast In Same Lane:

     Yes.  316.209 – Operating motorcycles on roadways laned for traffic.—(1) All motorcycles are
     entitled to full use of a lane and no motor vehicle shall be driven in such manner as to deprive
     any motorcycle of the full lane of the lane. This subsection shall not apply to motorcycles
     operated two abreast in a single lane.


Lane Splitting:

     316.209 Operating motorcycles on roadways laned for traffic - (2) The operator of a
     motorcycle shall not overtake and pass in the same lane occupied by the vehicle being
     overtaken. (3) No person shall operate a motorcycle between lanes of traffic or between
     adjacent lines or rows of vehicles.

License Tag:
     The license tag must be permanently affixed and may not be adjustable or capable of flipping
     up. (Prohibiting Vertical tags was repealed as of July 1, 2009)

Lemon Law Coverage:



Safety Helmet:
   Required if under age 16 and ATV's

Eye Protection:
   Required if under age 16 and ATV's

Minimum Operators Age:
   No restrictions

Operator Lic. & Rider ED certificate:
   Not required

Headlight & Taillight:
   Not required

   Not required, no sound level limit

Spark Arrestor:
   Not required

Vehicle Title & Registration:
   Required by law
             State Capitol in Tallahassee, FL
Website Builder